• Kingfisher - Chelsea Scott Photography
  • Jetty - Chelsea Scott Photography
  • Masked Booby - Hank Bower
  • Silver Eye - Jack Shick
  • Blinky Beach - Kenny Lees
  • Looking South - Kenny Lees

Welcome to the Lord Howe Island Board

The Lord Howe Island Board is a statutory authority established under the provisions of the Lord Howe Island Act 1953. The Board is responsible to the NSW Minister for the Environment and comprises four Islanders elected by the local community and three members appointed by the Minister. It is charged with the care, control and management of the Island and the affairs and trade of the Island.

The Lord Howe Island Board is part of the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment cluster, which is the lead NSW Government agency in planning for a growing NSW.

Our response to Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Lord Howe Island Board is working with NSW Health, and other agencies to support the Government response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

For the latest information on the COVID-19:

On the 2nd October 2020 the NSW Health Minister repealed the Lord Howe Island Public Health Order allowing visitors residents, friends and family to access the island without undertaking 14 days isolation.

Visitors and residents are reminded to practice good COVID hygiene by following all COVID Safety Plans when visiting local businesses and Board facilities, practice good hand hygiene, and maintain 1.5m social distancing. Mask wearing is strongly encouraged if you are unable to maintain 1.5m social distancing.

If you experience any of the following symptoms:

  • Fever
  • Fatigue
  • Shortness of breath
  • Cough

Please call the Gower Wilson Memorial Hospital on 6563 2000. Please do not go to the hospital.

If you believe there is a business or persons who are breaching a COVID Safety Plan please contact the police on 6563 2199.


29 September 2020
The Lord Howe Island Board is seeking quotes from appropriately skilled individuals with... Read more
26 September 2020
The Chair of the Board was advised last night that Minister Hazzard has signed the Public... Read more
24 September 2020
Newsletter - Biosecurity Update - September 2020 3 MB