• Kingfisher - Chelsea Scott Photography
  • Jetty - Chelsea Scott Photography
  • Masked Booby - Hank Bower
  • Silver Eye - Jack Shick
  • Blinky Beach - Kenny Lees
  • Looking South - Kenny Lees

Welcome to the Lord Howe Island Board

The Lord Howe Island Board is a statutory authority established under the provisions of the Lord Howe Island Act 1953. The Board is responsible to the NSW Minister for the Environment and comprises four Islanders elected by the local community and three members appointed by the Minister. It is charged with the care, control and management of the Island and the affairs and trade of the Island. It is also responsible for the care, improvement and welfare of the Island and residents. “Island” as defined by the Act includes Lord Howe Island and all adjacent islands and coral reefs within one marine league of the Island. Ball’s Pyramid and adjacent islands are also included in this definition.

The Lord Howe Island Board is part of the Department of Planning & Environment cluster, which is the lead NSW Government agency in planning for a growing NSW.

The Department’s two related agencies - the Office of Environment & Heritage and the Office of Local Government, support the conservation and protection of the environment and an effective local government sector in NSW. The Office of Local Government also has oversight of the Lord Howe Island Board administration.



22 October 2019
Lord Howe Island has been ranked the world's fifth best region to visit in Lonely Planet... Read more
11 October 2019
NSW Minister for Energy and Environment, Matt Kean, along with the Australian Renewable... Read more
7 June 2019
The Board has engaged specialist flood consultants WMAwater to provide an improved... Read more